Jordan…the third Arab final in an exciting version of the Asian Nations Cup

February 13, 2024
Jordan...the third Arab final in an exciting version of the Asian Nations Cup

Qatar and Jordan will face off on Saturday at the Lusail World Cup Stadium to win the 2024 Asian Nations Cup title, in the third Arab final after 1996 and 2007. Between Al-A'adam, the host team seeking to maintain its title, and the Al-Nashama team, which achieved an unprecedented historical achievement in the history of Jordanian sports. The circumstances of each team are different, but the goal is the same: the cup.

Published in:

2 minutes

It's the day of judgment Asian Nations Cup In an all-Arab confrontation in the World Cup final between Lusail Stadium and a national team Qatar The host and holder of the yellow continent title, andJordan The dark horse of the championship.

The tournament was launched in 1956, but the first Arab participation was in 1972 with Iraq and Kuwait, who were the first Arab teams to qualify for the knockout rounds in 1976, when Kuwait lost the final to Iran.

The first opportunity to confront an Arab country in the final was wasted by Kuwait in 1984, when it lost in the semi-finals to China and the opportunity to confront Saudi Arabia, which won the title against the Red Dragon.

But in the 1996 UAE edition, the hostess headed towards the decisive match, before her train stopped against Saudi Arabia, which decided the confrontation led by Yousef Al-Thunayan on penalties, after a goalless draw at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The Arabs waited until 2007 to watch a new fight decided by the Iraqi “thug” Younis Mahmoud, when he headed the winning goal against Saudi Arabia in the 72nd minute in Jakarta.

The scenario was not included in the following editions, despite Qatar being crowned champion in 2019 in the UAE.

Mixed Arab results

In the current version, it seemed that the scene would not be repeated with the elimination of six Arab teams out of eight in the round of 16.

But the only two survivors completed the journey until the final match: Jordan, by defeating Iraq, Tajikistan and South Korea, and Qatar, by eliminating Palestine, Uzbekistan and Iran.

It will also be possible, in this final, for Moroccan Hussein Amouta to become the second Arab coach to win the title, if he succeeds in overcoming Qatar, which is supervised by the Spanish “Tentin” Marques Lopes. Saudi Khalil Al-Zayani is unique in this achievement when he led his country to the 1984 title.

France 24/AFP

Follow us on Google News


قد يهمك ايضاً